Thursday, February 18, 2010
The Joseph Moore House
In 1751, Joseph Moore purchased a plot of land in Southwick, which was located in an area on the outskirts of Westfield, Massachusetts. Soon, he built a home for his wife, Mary, and their eleven children. Upon the death of Joseph after the American Revolution, the home was passed down to his son, Roger Moore (1752-1838), who lived there his entire life. Due to numerous boundary changes, Roger Moore managed to live in two colonies; the two states of Massachusetts and Connecticut; Hampden, Hampshire and Hartford counties; as well as the four towns of Westfield, Southwick, Simsbury and Granby, all without ever moving out of the home his father had built!
After the settlement of the Springfield/Hartford region, a large population influx in the area created a concern over non-established boundary lines. As a result, the Bay State hired two surveyors to run the southern boundary line of Massachusetts. Upon completion of the survey, it was found that they had fixed the line too far south and at one point by almost 7 miles. Given its geographical location, the Joseph Moore House would find itself embroiled in the boundary dispute between Massachusetts and Connecticut. The two states spent 162 years arguing over their shared boundary line, which included appeals to England, numerous denied proposals, as well as some compromises.
The home is situated in the southern third of the town at 86 College Highway, in an area referred to as the “Jog” or the “Southwick Jog”. When Joseph Moore purchased the land and built his home, it was located in Westfield, Massachusetts. The settlers in this area became weary of traveling each Sunday to Westfield for service and petitioned to separate from Westfield and become their own town. In 1770, the Town of Southwick was established, which included the Joseph Moore House. Then in 1774, the residents of the southern portion of Southwick successfully petitioned to become a part of Connecticut. This reduced the size of Southwick by one-third. As a result, the Joseph Moore House was now in Simsbury, Connecticut. Given Massachusetts’ preoccupation with the growing tensions between itself and Britain, its loss of control over southern Southwick received little contention. In 1786, Simsbury sliced off its Salmon Brook area to create the town of Granby. The “Jog” was included in this separation, making the Joseph Moore House now a part of Granby, Connecticut.
After the Revolutionary War had ended, Massachusetts and Connecticut resumed their battle over the rightful ownership of the “Jog”. Connecticut stood firm on its rightful jurisdiction since the area clearly lay below the Massachusetts borderline, and emphasized the inhabitants’ desire to be a part of their state. Massachusetts was quick to remind Connecticut that in 1749, it had allowed them the jurisdiction over Suffield, Enfield and Woodstock even though it was in violation of the 1713 compromise which claimed that land belonged to Massachusetts. In 1801, Massachusetts made a proposal to divide the disputed area at the Congamond Lakes into two. Connecticut would get the portion to the east of the lakes, while Massachusetts would get the portion west of the lakes. Connecticut refused, but in 1804, they finally agreed, which returned the “Jog” to Massachusetts jurisdiction, where it has remained to this day.
Ownership of the Joseph Moore House was transferred to the Southwick Historical Society in 1990. It is currently being converted into a museum by the Society and is expected to open to the general public by the summer of 2010. For more information regarding the museum opening, please email the Southwick Historical Society: southwickhistory@yahoo.com.
Tuesday, November 10, 2009
Springfield's First Public Building
SPRINGFIELD’S FIRST PUBLIC BUILDING
In the year 1645, Springfield built its first meeting house for religious services. Thomas Cooper was hired to build the meeting-house, which was to be 40 feet long and 25 feet wide. The meeting-house was to have a number of large windows and two turrets. One turret was for the bell and the other for a watch-house.
When Cooper completed the work, he received in payment, “wheate, pease, pork, wampum, debts and labor”. The building was located on the south side of Court Square, a few feet back from Main Street near what is now Elm Street. It was reported that the new meeting-house was the first building devoted to religious worship in the State (west of Boston) and the first public building for any purpose in Springfield. It was also considered the beginning of the First Church on Court Square.
In 1650, John Pynchon reached an agreement with the town to make a chamber over the meeting-house. He would have use of it for ten years and if the town needed it, they could have it provided they pay him in effect for his costs. Two years later, the town decided to take possession of the chamber. Over the years, the town rented the chamber out to various people as a place for storing grain.
Source: History of Springfield, MA
In the year 1645, Springfield built its first meeting house for religious services. Thomas Cooper was hired to build the meeting-house, which was to be 40 feet long and 25 feet wide. The meeting-house was to have a number of large windows and two turrets. One turret was for the bell and the other for a watch-house.
When Cooper completed the work, he received in payment, “wheate, pease, pork, wampum, debts and labor”. The building was located on the south side of Court Square, a few feet back from Main Street near what is now Elm Street. It was reported that the new meeting-house was the first building devoted to religious worship in the State (west of Boston) and the first public building for any purpose in Springfield. It was also considered the beginning of the First Church on Court Square.
In 1650, John Pynchon reached an agreement with the town to make a chamber over the meeting-house. He would have use of it for ten years and if the town needed it, they could have it provided they pay him in effect for his costs. Two years later, the town decided to take possession of the chamber. Over the years, the town rented the chamber out to various people as a place for storing grain.
Source: History of Springfield, MA
Tuesday, July 14, 2009
"Famous Faces in Familiar Places"
The famous Granville Brothers, originally of New Hampshire, are known as the creators and inventive minds behind perhaps the most famous aircraft in aviation history. At age 19, the eldest Granville Brother, Zantford moved to Massachusetts and spent much time at the Boston Airport, taking flying lessons after becoming “bored” with his automobile business.
In 1929, Zantford founded an airplane repair shop in Springfield, Massachusetts, as it was the only area in which he could obtain financing. Zantford made a deal with another set of famous and wealthy brothers, the Taits. The Tait Brothers were owners of a large ice cream business as well as the Springfield Airport. The finance agreement enabled the purchase of a high-powered, more advanced engine. This repair shop later became the birthplace of a series of “Sportsters,” racing aircraft that would go on to win several prestigious National Air Races.
The Gee Bees, a series of 1930s racing planes, were thought to be the fastest aircraft and perhaps the most dangerous of its time. The Granville Brothers consisted of Zantford, Thomas, Robert, Mark, and Edward, all of which migrated to the Springfield, Massachusetts area.
The advanced aerodynamic design engineered by the Granville Brothers required only the most qualified and skilled pilots. In fact, the eldest Granville Brother, Zantford, died while attempting to abort a landing in South Carolina, ultimately causing the plane to crash.
In 1929, Zantford founded an airplane repair shop in Springfield, Massachusetts, as it was the only area in which he could obtain financing. Zantford made a deal with another set of famous and wealthy brothers, the Taits. The Tait Brothers were owners of a large ice cream business as well as the Springfield Airport. The finance agreement enabled the purchase of a high-powered, more advanced engine. This repair shop later became the birthplace of a series of “Sportsters,” racing aircraft that would go on to win several prestigious National Air Races.
The Gee Bees, a series of 1930s racing planes, were thought to be the fastest aircraft and perhaps the most dangerous of its time. The Granville Brothers consisted of Zantford, Thomas, Robert, Mark, and Edward, all of which migrated to the Springfield, Massachusetts area.
The advanced aerodynamic design engineered by the Granville Brothers required only the most qualified and skilled pilots. In fact, the eldest Granville Brother, Zantford, died while attempting to abort a landing in South Carolina, ultimately causing the plane to crash.
For more information, please visit http://www.centennialofflight.gov/
"Did you know..."
Our very own Tony Diaz, in the Annex Department, a document from the 1700's, as well as Register of Deeds, Donald E. Ashe are featured in a book published in 2008...
Gretchen Holbrook-Gerzina, author and editor of several books, was originally from Michiganand moved to Springfield, Massachusetts at age five with her family.
Gretchen Holbrook-Gerzina, author and editor of several books, was originally from Michiganand moved to Springfield, Massachusetts at age five with her family.

Her latest book, Mr. and Mrs. Prince, depicts a New England African American family and their challenges prior to the Civil War. During the research for the book, Ms. Gerzina’s husband, Anthony, researched documents dating back to the 1700’s where he met Tony, in our Annex Department. The experience of discovering a manumission document relative to one of the characters, as well as its photocopy are featured in pages 45 and 46 of Mr. and Mrs. Prince, courtesy of Register Donald E. Ashe.Gerzina obtained her B.A. from Marlboro College, her M.A. from Simmons College, as well as her Ph.D. from Stanford University. Gerzina is currently a Biography Professor at Dartmouth College, where she is the first woman ever to chair the English Department and the first African American woman to chair an Ivy League English Department.For more information, please visit http://www.gretchengerzina.com/
"Famous Faces in Familiar Places"
"Dr. Seuss”, Theodor Seuss Geisel, the definitive children’s book author and illustrator was born in 1904 on Howard Street in Springfield, Massachusetts. His first children’s book “And to Think that I Saw it on Mulberry Street” is filled with imagery of Springfield, including a parade with a caricature of Mayor Fordis Parker on the reviewing stand and the police officers on their red (Indian) motorcycles.Visit http://www.catinthehat.org/
Monday, June 1, 2009
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)




